9 Books to Read if You Love ‘Friends’ – Therapy Box

9 Books to Read if You Love ‘Friends’

One of the highlights of 2020 is going to be the ‘Friends’ cast reunion debuting later this year. It’s hard to imagine a show that has had more of an impact on our generation than ‘Friends’. It is THE show about friendship and just big a role your friends can play in your life. Friend groups are important to all of us, and during this time it’s hard to catch-up with our own. Perhaps that’s why we are feeling particularly nostalgic about this show. To celebrate the reunion special, we’ve compiled a list of books to read if you love ‘Friends’. These books feature strong friend groups just like Ross, Rachel, Joey, Chandler, Phoebe, and Monica. Enjoy!

Books to Read if You Love ‘Friends’

I’ll Be There For You by Kelsey Miller

With the Friends reunion the only thing people could talk about earlier in the month (my how things have changed,) I decided to read this book after it had been on my TBR for a long time. I didn’t know the history behind how the show got started, how it became successful, and ultimately why it ended. A total must for Friends fans

The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs

Set in New York City, a group of eclectic women come together once a week to knit. The story is mainly focused on one woman and her daughter, but the group of friends they make at the knitting club get them through the hardest year of their life. This testimate to friendship, knitting, and New York is a great one for fans of Friends.

Gifted School by Bruce Holsinger

This novel was a best of 2019 pick for us. The story is set in a Colorado town where a school for gifted children is being built. When a tight-knit group of friends learns about the school, they will go to any lengths to get their children a spot. I loved learning about how their friendships were established and how they’ve evolved over th years. High on drama, this one will resonate with moms today.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

This book is Liane Moriarty at her finest. It’s all about a group of mothers in a community who share some big lies. Their friendships take center stage, but there is a fair amount of family drama as well. This novel was recently turned into a shop on HBO starring Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Laura Dern, and more.

Brunch and Other Obligations by Suzanne Nugent

Thank you so much to BookSparks for my copy of this book.  As soon as I saw the description, I knew that this was a book for me and it did not disappoint at all.  The story is about 3 friends who have one thing in common- Molly.  When Molly dies, she requests, in her will, that her three best friends meet for Sunday brunch once a month for a year.  I fell in love with each of these characters who are flawed in their own ways.  This book made me feel good.  It is a perfect book to remind you of the importance of friendship.  In these times, I can’t think of a more perfect book, 

Still Life by Louise Penny– The first in the series of Chief Inspector Gamache. There is something about this book that is so great.  I just loved it.  It is a good, old-fashioned who-dun-it.  Somehow, this book was so relaxing to listen to.  It didn’t make me anxious and didn’t require too much thought.  The story takes place in Quebec, Canada.  I was born in Montreal (which is in Quebec)  and listening to a book set in Canada was somehow nostalgic. Listening to the French swear words was awesome.  I know that my friends here in the US don’t know that “tabarnac” means sh*t!!!

The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll

First off, thank you to Simon and Schuster for sending us this book. I AM OBSESSED PEOPLE!!!!!!!! It was so good. It cannot be defined by one genre. It’s a thriller and chick-lit and feminist literature all in one! You start off knowing there is a murder and then traveling back to find out what happened and why she was killed. But here is the kicker – the victim is a REALITY TV STAR. So the whole thing is like watching a behind-the-scenes look at Desperate Housewives. It was seriously amazing guys. You need to read it this summer. It’s truly the perfect beach read.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Jackie recommended this book to me during our favorite books about 1940’s Europe roundup over a year ago. But it took me finding out about the adaption coming to Netflix this year to really push it to the top of my list. I’m so glad I read it because it’s a wonderful story about friendship and bravery in the midsts of war.

One Little Secret by Cate Holahan

Thanks to Crooked Lane Books for my copy. All opinions are my own. Finally! A thriller that actually thrilled me! One Little Secret is who-dun-it murder mystery about 3 couples who sublet a house in the Hamptons for a week. When one of them turns up dead, it’s up to Detective Watkins to figure out who did it. There were secrets unveiled on almost every page, but the last 50 or so had me gasping out loud repeatedly. I totally did not see the ending coming. If you are looking for a great thriller, look no further!! This is perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Woman in the Window.

,

The post 9 Books to Read if You Love ‘Friends’ appeared first on Beyond the Bookends.