17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic – Therapy Box

17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic

The love of Harry Potter books has continued now for over 20 years. And every reader faces the same problem after completing the series for the first time – What other books are like Harry Potter?

Well don’t worry! We’ve rounded up loads of books like Harry Potter for kids of all ages. You’ll see mostly middle grade books on this list, but we do have a few witch books for younger siblings of Hogwarts loving bookworms.

Books like Harry Potter for Younger Kids

Heidi Heckelbeck has a Secret by Wanda Coven

These early readers have large type, cute pictures but are definitely not short on fun.  Heidi seems like a regular eight-year-old girl but, she is a witch.  

She may not be ready for Hogwarts quite yet, but with  21 books in the series, she is keeping herself occupied in the meantime.  

Dragonbreath by Ursula Vernon

Dragonbreath is a graphic novel that is funny, engaging and perfect for a little witch or wizard who would like to encounter dragons a little less menacing than the ones Harry encounters.

The Kingdom of Wrenly by Jordan Quinn

This series of early readers has pictures on almost every page and easy to read language.  The Stories, however, are fun and full of adventure.

They are sure to keep your child engaged with fairies, trolls, and mermaids.


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

This is a classic tale of four siblings who step through a wardrobe and into the land of Narnia.  This story is one of the original fantasies with witches, talking lions, and creatures galore.

Like Harry Potter, there is fantastical world building. It’s also been made into a series of movies to enjoy after reading.

Books like Harry Potter for Kids that are Older

The books below are similar to Harry Potter in many ways and are geared for readers of the same level – Middle Grade and Young Adults with appropriate content.

You’ll find other well known worlds, series about gods, and other addicting fantasy novels for older readers.

The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson

Does your kid love the Hogwarts Express? Because this book features another magical world where the gateway is in an railroad station.

It features a wizard, an ogre, a hag, and a fey all sneaking around trying to save a prince who’s been kidnapped. It’s a stand-alone book, not part of a series, and my son gobbled it up in two days.

The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chaini

You might want to bump this series to the top of your reading pile because it’s becoming a movie starring some big name actors.

Sophie thinks her history makes her a good fit for the School of Good like Cinderella and Snow White before her. Agatha is thinking the School of Evil is a better fit for her. But when the opposite schools are assigned to each girl, they need to figure out who they really are and where they belong.

Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George

If the changing staircases, room of requirement, and secrets passages are your child’s favorite parts about Hogwarts, this is the series for them!

Princess Celie lives in an ever-changing castle that adds new rooms every Tuesday. She eagerly maps out each new addition which might just end up saving her family when danger heads to their home.

A Tale of Magic by Chris Colfer

Brystal Evergreen finds out that she can perform magic when reading a book from her library, but women’s aren’t suppose to read!

When she is sentenced to a correctional facility, she is quickly whisked away to an academy where she can learn magic! My kids devoured this as quickly as Chris Colfer’s last series.

Pennyroyal Academy by M. A. Larson

Pennyroyal Academy is a school for princes and princesses to learn to battle evil witches and dragons. A different take on Hogwarts, wouldn’t you say?

If the Magic Fits (100 Dresses) by Susan Maupin Schmid

Featuring an enchanted castle with a closet full of 100 dresses, this is a story for magical fashionistas.

Each magical dress allows Darling Dimple to be instantly disgusted as someone else. What sorts of adventure will Darling Dimple get into with these 100 dresses?

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Morrigan Crow discovers a magical city in this story perfect for Harry Potter fans, particularly those that like Goblet of Fire.

Morrigan is chosen to compete for a spot in the most prestigious organization in the city. She must complete 4 difficult and deadly tasks in order to make it into the Wundrous Society.

Which Witch by Eva Ibbotson

This is a totally different tale by Ms. Ibbotson. My son didn’t love it because he isn’t that into romance.

This book is about a handsome wizard who announces a contest to marry the meanest witch of all, but our heroine is a charming and nice witch who can’t be mean. Think the bachelor with witches for preteens. Not for my son, but you child might love it!

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by  Michael Scott

Yes, we are talking about the same Nicholas Flamel from HP. He really existed, passing away in 1418…. but what if he made the elixir of life and has been living all these years?

Another addicting set of stories, this is perfect for those looking for a series.

Magyk by Angie Sage

Septimus Heap is the seventh son of a seventh son.  He disappears the night that he is born and his parents are told he is dead.  

That night, his father finds a baby girl in the snow.  This story sets up the adventures for the rest of the series with magic, adventure, and bravery.  

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This series is full of magic and mystery.  The amazing combination of fiction with antique photographs leads to a truly unique story.

In this story, Jacob travels to a remote Island off the coast of Wales searching for answers.  What he finds are more questions.

The Land of Stories by Chris Colfer

While this story is about the land of fairy tales, think Little Red Riding Hood and Cinderella, it has the element of magic and wonder that Harry Potter fans will love.  

Alex and Connor’s grandmother gives them the family book of fairy tales.  Before they understand what is happening, they find themselves transported into the book.  They set off on an adventure to get back home

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I am including this series because of how many times my son has read it.  I don’t think there is a boy (or girl) out there who has read this series and not loved it. It is the only series that can compare to Harry Potter in terms of how much my son LOVES it.  

It is not magic in the strictest sense of the word.  Rather, it’s about the Greek Gods set in a modern world, with their own special kinds of powers.

Did you find any books like Harry Potter for the kids in your life?

If you want to pair them with cute Harry Potter gifts, check out this post too!

The post 17 Books like Harry Potter for Kids Obsessed with Magic appeared first on Beyond the Bookends.